top of page
lincoln park.jpg

New Rochelle NAACP

Mission &


The mission of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People is to ensure a society in which all individuals have equal rights without discrimination based on race.

The New Rochelle Branch of the NAACP was organized in 1923 largely through the efforts of Mrs. Annie Lucille Alleyne, wife of Rev. Cameron C. Allenyne, pastor of St. Catherine AME Zion Church and assisted by her good friend Walter White just 14 years after the National Association came into being. As with so many of our branches, the New Rochelle Branch was organized in a church - Bethesda Baptist Church, Mrs. Alleyne became the temporary chairperson. 

Areas of Focus:

  • Education

  • Political Leadership

  • Membership

  • Technology

  • Housing

school nr.jpg



Events in our History.

Attorney Paul Zuber, representing several members of the New Rochelle Branch challenging the Lincoln School boundaries. Was the attorney on record when the US Supreme Court let stand the a decision by the Second Circuit Court of Appeals in favor of the plaintiffs. This was the landmark Lincoln School Desegregation Case.


President- Min Mark McLean

1st Vice President- Aisha Cook

2nd Vice President- Judith Henry

3rd Vice President - Dr. Jonathan Williams M.D.

Secretary- Denise Ford

Assistant Secretary- Carol Bracey

Treasurer- Gayla Marsh 

Executive Committee Members.

Myriam Decime

Deloise Jackson

Hon. Pearl Quarles

Richard St. Paul Esq.

Jennifer Minto-Hinton

Stephine Bartee

Sonya Spady

Mary Smith

Patricia Gilmore

Luetwinder Savage

Dorothy Oliver

Valerie Williams

Dr. Carla H. Woolbright

Branch Presidents.

Dr. Leon Scott (First Elected President)

Mrs. Ann Mosely   1980 - 1981

Dr. W. Best

Dr. C.P. McClendon

Mr. John Tate

Mrs. Francis Clements   1982 - 1984

Dr. Betty V. Stith   1985 - 1986

Mr. Napolean Holmes   1987 - 1994

Mr. Bertram Minton

Rev. Dr. Paul Allen Weaver, Jr   1995-1996

Rev. Henry Desse

Mrs. Marilyn Pierce (completed Rev. Desse's term)

Ms. Christine Iman Burton  1997 - 1998

Mr. Ronald H. Williams  1999 - 2000

Rev. Andrew E. Whitted 

Mr. Napolean Holmes  1970 - 1976

Mr. Oscar Parnell  1977 - 1978

Mr. Samuel L. Spady, Jr.  2001 - 2007

Mr. Ronald H. Williams  2008 - 2016

Dr. Carla Woolbright  2017 - 2018

Min. Mark McLean  2019 - Present 

Mr. Paul D. Dennis, Jr.   1960-1968

NAACP Seal.png
bottom of page